Register with GEF for FREE to enjoy these great benefits! 

    • member only contests and raffles

    • sustainability program news and updates

    • significant discounts at GEF Institute

Note: If you have problems registering, contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Taking a GEF Institute Course? Login by clicking here.






Join Us

Sign Up for National Green Week!
Please note: Your privacy is very important to GEF. We do not share or sell any of your data.  It is with the sole purpose of providing you with relevant information that GEF will contact you.

When planning your garden, you must consider your zone. The hardiness of a plant indicates the ability of a plant to survive in a given climate. The Plant Hardiness Zone Map was created by the USDA to help growers identify the plants that tolerate the climates characteristic of their regions, or climatic "zones." The map divides the United States and southern Canada into eleven zones. Zone 1 has the coldest minimum temperatures, while Zone 11 has the warmest. So for example, if you live in Zone 4, you want to grow plants that are described as suitable or hardy to Zone 4,  to ensure that they are tolerant to your climate. You would be taking a risk growing plants that are unsuited to your zone - in addition to climate incompatibility, you'd be putting your plants at much higher risk for disease.